Hua Hin sojourn

Hua Hin is a name I had not heard of, till I heard my husband talk about his weeklong conference being held there. To satiate my curiosity, I did, what most people do when they are looking for information: Googled!

On reading that it was a popular beach resort close to the bustling city of Bangkok (approximately 200 km), I was so very tempted to go and give my harried nerves some rest. While I desperately wanted to go, I was also unsure, since there was too much happening at my home front, and was hesitant whether my visiting parents would be able to manage the home front. But, as it is rightly said, it is only mothers who can give the unconditional love and support: had it not been for my mother’s support I would not have been able to go at all. I am so glad I did, I needed this time out.

The best part about travelling to Bangkok on a short notice is that all one needs is a ticket to fly, since visa is on arrival. Worked perfectly for me, for frankly had it been any other place, it would not have been possible for me to co-ordinate and take off on such a short notice.

A red-eye 4-hour Thai flight from Bangalore and voila, I was on my way to Hua Hin, in Prachuap Khiri Khan; the beach gateway made popular by Thai royalty.

Hua Hin

A three-hour comfortable drive, and one was in Hua Hin, which is situated on the Gulf of Thailand. Closer to the beach town, one spotted numerous beach resorts, ranging from the top-end Sheraton to those which are owned by Thai-royalty to medium-budget resorts; to suit every possible financial plan.

While the town is primarily a fishing town with a lot of natural beauty around, the other sightseeing attractions include the vintage Hua Hin train station, the night market and handicraft shops. I frankly was in the no mood for sightseeing and just wanted to listen to the waves and hear the birds chirp, so did not move out-of-the resort, which was right on the beach. My pre-teenager was appalled when he heard that I had not budged out of the place, but personally I got the much-desired me-time.


So, what did I do? I swam, listened to the intoxicating music of the waves, walked along the beach, watched the small country boats sail by, bid adieu to the golden sun everyday from the sea-shore, lounged under the huge beach-umbrella and read a book. If that was not enough, every morning I woke up late to the sound of chirping birds and children’s gleeful laughter. Our room happened to overlook the resort pool, which was surrounded by swaying palms and small-trees laden with sweet-smelling frangipani. Sometimes, I would just stretch out on the sit-out and listen to the gentle rustle of the palms while I read my book.

It felt liberating not to be tied down to the daily rigors of the day. There were a few first-experiences for me on this trip. A few include: hardly spoke to anyone the few days; a rarity in today’s times, where I feel there is just too much of ambient noise around. Another first included me practically living in my polka-dotted bikni in the beach resort; an unthinkable proposition for some one living in India. No worries, it was only when I went to the restaurant to eat, that I changed into some chic evening wear☺ , Not that bad after all!

Oh, I have to share this: lest I forget. Since, I was reading a rather unconventional book (50 shades of Grey) on my trip, I would always get a wide-eyed-smile-look or a twinkling-eye-look, anyone who spotted the cover of the book. Sigh! The joys of reading a book, which is rather unconventional, to put it mildly☺

Would I recommend Hua Hin? Oh! Absolutely! Go, if you are in the mood to be with nature and yourself.

About nishi01

Savoring and writing…
This entry was posted in Travel, travelogue and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hua Hin sojourn

  1. madammommy says:

    Sounds heavenly!!! Great post!

  2. Papia Rakshit says:

    Wow, just ur kinda holiday nishi…..glad u cud make it…..the place seems to be awesome…only that everyone could be lucky enough to get some time out like this when they need it so much !!! Super writing….felt like visualizing each word written !!! Tx for the journey 🙂

  3. Arunima Das says:

    Sounds lie a great getaway!

  4. Oh Nishi…you had one of those days which we all want…loved and lived it through your writing.. serenity, tranquility and to be one’s own-self… just blissful…:)

Leave a Reply

