You suck!

Oh, yes, that’s what I was told recently!  Though, perhaps, not in so many words, but it meant and conveyed the same message nevertheless.  Truth be told, I was not exactly over the moon, a reaction which I thought was natural. What is it that took me by surprise? It was the apparent viciousness, and blame-me attitude of the site owner on behalf-of-the-client.

I was told, how I lacked basic language skills, and had no grammar sense, and whoa! I claimed myself to be a writer? As per the client (conveyed duly by the site owner), he would have done a much much better job. (For those not aware, I have been writing for a few years now, and have numerous articles in print and online, and till date, I have not been ticked off so viciously).

My immediate reaction was to the site-owner, “ Ok perhaps we can address the write-up in a different way, or perhaps you can assign a different writer?” I was stunned by the reply, “ The article is already live and one cannot do anything much now.” Article already ‘LIVE’ ?? Why should a shitty article go ‘live’ is what I was unable to comprehend. It was not about any recent urgent phenomenon; hence another writer could be assigned, why was that not done? I was unable to understand.

While I agree with a paying client, one has to have the attitude, that the ‘client is always right’, is it not good judgment to also make the client see reason? As in, not try to be hyperbolic and try to mislead readers, by saying things like, ‘the best thing to happen’, ‘magnificent’, par excellence etc? And yes, regarding the typo error, yes, I made a mistake, but what was the need to be so mean, especially, since I have a working relationship with them, and had blogged numerous articles for them.

The cherry-on-the-cake moment was, when I was asked by the site owner to share the apparently, poorly written article with my friends, to make the ‘client’ feel happy. I duly did. Why? Oh, I just did not want any bad blood anymore. And yes, I forgo my fees for this, much to the site-owner’s happiness.

My learning: Check and re-check, also get a get a complete comprehensive understanding of the written piece one is looking for, because it is this unclear-understanding, which can cause heartburn.

And I continue to live by this thought..

A successful man is one who can lay a firm foundation with the bricks others have thrown at him.

 

 

About nishi01

Savoring and writing…
This entry was posted in Life, Personality, Relationship, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to You suck!

  1. madammommy says:

    You know what I love about this post? The transparency and honesty that you bring into it. And for what its worth, no, you don’t suck in my books. You write from your heart and I am an ardent follower.

  2. madammommy says:

    Lessons can be taught without viciousness. But then that would be a perfect world..

  3. dietriotgirl says:

    If there was a genuine mistakes that needed reproach, I support critiquing. But, not so viciously. Anger and threatening is no way to invoke work effort. Above it all, it was unprofessional. Glad you were able to maintain your professionalism but most of all your courteousness.

  4. I agree with you on this Nishi…your post made me feel at ease for have been told in many words by one who does not even pay that am not ‘at par’ for particular things, it can happen, but just don’t be rude about it. You made me feel at home by this post.

  5. vanessagobes says:

    there must be something in the air… i just vlogged yesterday about a similar situation AND in the wall street journal today there’s a story titled “WHY WE ARE SO RUDE ONLINE”. if you are confident in your abilities, this guy has no power over you. have an extra swig of mylanta for me! 🙂 peace!!!!

  6. Rose Chimera says:

    “…is it not good judgment to also make the client see reason?” Uh yeah its good judgment! Isn’t the client PAYING you and presumably that would be part of what you’re paid for. Judgment. Perhaps the client just didn’t like what you had to say. Doesn’t mean you were wrong though.

Leave a Reply

