Pass me some Chamomile tea please

Relax with a soothing cup of chamomile tea

Infused with the flavors of the Chamomile flower, Chamomile tea is my favorite drink; when I need to unwind and relax, post a long day.

Since it is an herbal tea infusion, with very delicate and light flavors, it is best had neat, as in, without any additives whatsoever in the form of milk or sugar.

I discovered the flavor of Chamomile tea, quite by accident really. I was meeting friends after a long time at a coffee parlor, but was in no mood to have coffee! Surprisingly there were some tea-selections available at the coffee place, and I decided to try the chamomile tea, which was part of the selection.  The tea was served to me infused with the Chamomile herb (which was in a tea bag, but not the usual-small tea bags which are available in stores) in a clear transparent –large-cup. The champagne-hued tea, and the delicate fragrance, had a miraculously soothing effect on me.

Ever since that day, whenever, I have had the urge to calm down, and rest my nerves, it is a hot cup of chamomile tea, which works wonders. While there are numerous brands in the market, the one I like the best is Twinings, since it comes closest to my first-time experience of Chamomile tea.

How does one make it at home? It is really very simple. Just boil some water, and pour the hot water in the cup/mug. Let the flavors infuse. You will be able to see the change in color. Preferably take a transparent cup/mug (so that you can enjoy the hues too), and choose a time and spot, where you can sip it at a leisurely pace. Pointless really, trying to gulp it down.

While, for most there is no allergic reaction (remember it is herbal, so could trigger allergy), for the very few it might, especially if one is taking blood-thinners, since there could be traces of coumarin, which apparently can cause some problems.  Just don’t go overboard drinking is what I say!

Pic courtesy: Wikipedia page on Chamomile

For those who have never had Chamomile tea before, I would say (just like Dr. Suess, a children’s writer says) Try it! Try it! And you may!

Someone has wisely said,

Stress is an ignorant state. It believes that everything is an emergency. Nothing is that important.

About nishi01

Savoring and writing…
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Life, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pass me some Chamomile tea please

  1. madammommy says:

    I have some at home. Come over. We will sit at the back deck, look out at the rain washed green, sip chamomile tea……and talk!

  2. wartica says:

    I actually picked up chamomile organic tea at Trader Joe’s yesterday, and it definitely did the trick of getting me in a better state of being:)

  3. reshamblr says:

    Have heard of Chaipatty, but never been there…loved the photos accompanying the write up too. Very well written Nishi.

  4. GokulRajendra says:

    I love the recipe and I will prepare veriTEAs

Leave a Reply

