“I am God, do you know that?”

Teenage!

Teenage! Pic Courtesy: Google

Being parent to a teenage child is a different experience all right. Some days are pure joy, some fill you with bewilderment, some with frustration seeing their pigheadedness and some days like yesterday with loads of hooting laughter!   

Let me now tell you, why yesterday happened to be so memorable. Before I proceed on to the episode, I would need to a give wee bit of background information to the conversation I had. Readers who are following news on India would be aware that the sentencing of the rapists of the young physiotherapist in Delhi just happened. Prior to the sentencing, which happened on Friday the 13th of September, the newspapers and online media were filled with articles, write-ups, viewpoints on what led to the rape, what would be the fate of the adult rapists, legal implications, society’s role etc. etc.

I happened to be reading a very well-rounded and researched article by Jason Burke, the south East Asian correspondent of the Guardian, on the Dec 16th rape incident when my teen decided he wanted to have a conversation with me.

With the article still fresh on my mind, I asked him, “What do you know about the Dec16 rape incident?” I sure was taken in by surprise when my boy rattled off what the verdict was, the legal implication etc. When asked about what he knew about the juvenile offender, who got a lease of life thanks to him not being 18, my teen got the years of sentencing wrong. It was at this juncture, I told him, “you need to be more careful with the details,” (I got into my mommy mode, and was trying to make him appreciate the value of correct details).

My boy hated the interruption. Irritated and with a theatrical shrug he said, “ I am known as God in my class, do you know that?” I looked at him askance, my mouth literally half-open. “God?” I asked.  My teen with the confidence which only teens posses, said, “Yes, God! I am known as the God of current affairs!” By then my surprise had tuned into mirth, and I was hooting with laughter. I laughed so hard, that tears rolled and my boy seeing his mom’s unexpected mirth was most upset. He muttered, “You just don’t appreciate.” I quickly assuaged his doubts of non-appreciation and told him, since God can do no wrong, he would need to be more careful with details!  Ha Ha!

Some one has rightly said, “Teenagers. Everything is so apocalyptic!

About nishi01

Savoring and writing…
This entry was posted in Life, Mother's Day, New Learnings, Personality, Relationship, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “I am God, do you know that?”

  1. madammommy says:

    Hahaha! Please tell God of current affairs that I bow to him 🙂 ! Still laughing…

  2. I know what you mean have one….and everyday is a new chapter..:)

  3. reshamblr says:

    Loved this one. refreshing, candid and sparkling with humor. Like God of Small Things God of Current Affairs…hehe 🙂

  4. arunima says:

    NIce! 😀

Leave a Reply

