Growing up …fast..

A mother always thinks she knows her child, or at least she ‘thinks’ she knows her child. I am no exception to the case.

My teen surprised me the other day. I realized that I did not know how fast he was growing up.

Parents and kids at school were shaken by the news of two sudden unfortunate untimely deaths of young lives in two consecutive days.

In one case his batch-mate lost his mother in a road accident and in the other incident, his friend lost his sister who was on the threshold of beginning a new life with her fiancé.

The evening his friend’s sister passed away, my teen suddenly came up to me in the evening and said he had something to tell me. I sat him down. He broke the news. I watched his face as he did. The still-innocent-child-face looked serious. The news stunned me; it was just yesterday I had heard about his batch-mate! Then he surprisingly forbade me from sharing the news with anyone yet, since he was unsure of how his friend would react. I respected the decision. By next day, the whole school became aware of the unfortunate second tragedy.

With important high-school assessments coming up, the teen is busy trying to wrap up study-portions. It is a busy, stressful time with teachers doing last minute revisions and the kids trying to solve mock-papers. In the middle of it all, my teen came up to me and asked me for permission to go and meet his friend (who had lost his sister) and offer his condolences and support at this trying hour.

My teens sense of empathy and concern, took me by surprise. He is growing up fast, I could see. I was surprised because I have seen many a grown-up not knowing what to do or say, when faced with a emotionally fragile situation. And here my teen was confident about facing such a state. In a sad way I was thankful that my teen was growing up with the right core values in life.

The turning point in the process of growing up is when you discover the core of strength within you that survives all hurt ~ Max Lerner

About nishi01

Savoring and writing…
This entry was posted in Life, New Learnings, Relationship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Growing up …fast..

  1. reshamblr says:

    This is heartwarming. In spite of all the odds, some small behavioral patterns, some moments like these make you feel that you have reared them up in the right manner and all is not lost. Happens with me all the time :). Loved the post

Leave a Reply

